Thread: Goaltending
View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2009, 08:56am
OHBBREF OHBBREF is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Referee24.7 View Post
B-Mac,

I'm talking about after the ball hits the backboard on an attempted shot and its on the way towards the cylinder, can a defender just come and slap it off with no goaltending being called?

And for reference, please DO NOT use the reference of what happened last night in the Gonzaga-Tennessee game -- that was blatant basket interference.
the difference is that in NCAA this year, if a defender contacts a shot after it hits the backboard (ball has to be completely above rim) it is to be considered on it's downward flight and therefore goal tending.

this rule interpretation does not apply to NFHS

Regarding the Gonz -Tenn reference you need to check the NCAA rule - it requires that the player reaching through the rim contact the ball for there to be BI which did not occur.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote