Thread: Inbounds foul?
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 03:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
Wow that is a new one...well did the throw in end when it was legally touched by B1 who was inbounds, and therefore by A1 also touching it, the ball is out of bounds off of A1, award B the ball at the spot? The option is always available for a tech if you view the act to be unsportsmanlike, but I'm not sure this would warrant a tech...I don't believe you can have a personal foul here - the definition references illegal contact with a variety of body parts, but the ball isn't mentioned...interested to hear other opinions on this one.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL View Post
You could get her with an intentional foul i guess, or you could call her for an OOB violation since the ball touched another player on the court and then her OOB. That might be the lesser of two evils. A intentional foul right here seem preety harsh, close game, possible freethrows. Not saying I wouldn't do it, just depends on how hard she pushed the girl. Sometimes they leave us with little choice. I'm sure I'll here it for this but it wouldn't be the same forum if I didn't.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
This is a good one................I'm with you on ruling regarding legally touched, just a quick guess.
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
OOB on A1.
You cannot call OOB on A1 here. Unless the ball has been released for a throwin, the throwin is not over so A1 has the right to hold it while out of bounds.

If B1 grabs the ball, you have a held ball; not OOB on A1. Same concept.

Call the personal foul. You could conceivably call a technical foul for unsporting conduct, but I think a personal foul is best here.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote