Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:
Originally posted by Tap
To remain safe from being tagged out, he either must stay with the dislodged base or stay where the base was before it was dislodged.
|
Speaking ASA, for the case of a runner who slid into the base, I disagree with this statement. By rule, the base goes where the runner goes as long as he does not try to advance.
|
I agree with the dislodged base following a sliding runner. However, even though the rule book uses the word "advance", I don't think it should be taken too literally.
What would you do if for some unknown reason (remember, softball players) the runner decides to retreat to the previous base? I doubt you would protect the runner because s/he wasn't "advancing" to the next base.
Of course, you can also interpret the wording of 8.3.C.Effect: ("The ball is in play and runners may advance or return with liability to be put out.") to mean that if a runner is returning, they have placed themselves into jeopardy.