Thread: Missed Home
View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 24, 2008, 10:35am
PeteBooth PeteBooth is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by yawetag View Post
Why would a tag have to be made on your second situation? The runner missed the bag, so touching the bag would make him out, regardless if he's running back to touch it or not, right?

If I'm wrong, I'd love to see some references to this.
On a play where B1 beats the throw to first base but does NOT touch the base, the proper mechanic is for the umpire to signal safe.

At one time in FED ONLY an "accidental appeal" was allowed. That is NOT the case anymore.

Therefore, if B1 beats the throw and missed first base, F3 MUST tag B1 to get the out provided the action is un-relaxed ie: B1 immediately turns around to touch the base.


Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth