View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 02:39pm
just another ref just another ref is offline
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by newera21 View Post
10.1.6 SITUATION: With Team A leading 51 to 50, a held ball is called. A6 properly reports and enters the game. Time is then called by Team A. The clock shows two seconds remaining in the game. After play is resumed by a throw-in, the officials do not notice Team A has six players on the court. Following the throw-in, time expires. Team B now reports to the officials that Team A had six players on the court. RULING: Since it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after time had expired, it is too late to assess any penalty.
No doubt it is too late in this case. I think this also applies during the game. If the officials do not actually observe 6 players, they can't take the word of anyone else. But, if I observe 6 players on the court, then the whistle blows, then the actual count takes place during a dead ball, I have no problem calling the technical at this time.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote