Thread: Delay Penality
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 09:29am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
BillyMac referenced the correct Sections and Articles in the NFHS Rules. In the original post, A1 would be charged with the TF per R1-S3-A5a even though Team A previously received an Official Warning per R4-S47. In fact, this would still be a TF charged to A1 even if Team A had NOT received an Official Warning for an infraction of R4-S47, but A1's TF would trigger an Official Warning to Team A.

MTD, Sr.
Sorry, MTD, but you are incorrect. You are also confusing some people.

The action of A1, knocking the ball away following a made goal, is not worthy of a player technical foul. The NFHS says so directly in the Case Book. A1 would have to do something above and beyond a normal batting of the ball, such as throwing it into the 10th row, to get charged with an unsporting foul.

10.1.5 SITUATION D:
Immediately following a goal by A1, A3 slaps the ball
away so that Team B is unable to make a quick throw-in.
RULING: The official
shall sound his/her whistle and go to the table to have the scorer record a team
warning for delay. The warning shall then be reported to the head coach of Team

A. Any subsequent delay by Team A shall result in a team technical foul charged
to Team A. (4-47-3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
How does one differentiate a team technical (10-1) from a player technical for (10-3) when a player prevents the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play by interfering with the ball following a goal?
If the infraction committed is one of the four items listed as a team delay, then that is the proper call. 10-3-5a is used for other ways in which a player delays the game. An example would be refusing to occupy the proper half of the center restraining circle for the jump ball to begin the first quarter or an overtime period in a timely manner.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Are free throw huddles and/or court not ready (water), always team technicals after a warning?
YES.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Can crossing the boundary line ever be a player technical after a team warning? Or is it always a team technical?
NO. Crossing the boundary WITHOUT making any contact with the ball or the player is always a team warning or team technical. NEVER to the player. Crossing the boundary and contacting the ball while it is in the thrower's hands is a player technical.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I thought I understood these delays. Not so. I'm getting confused. Help me, or, I swear, I'll make another study guide, and this is not an idle threat.
You are confused because MTD wrote something which is incorrect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyClyde 68 View Post
I called it a direct t on A1. He caused the delay. I still think I was right!!!!!
Nope, you got it wrong. Read what I wrote above to BillyMac and MTD. Pay special attention to the NFHS case play.
Reply With Quote