View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 15, 2008, 12:36pm
UmpJM UmpJM is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

yawetag,

Depends on the rules the game is being played under.

Under FED rules, the F4 telling the runner that the ball was foul is considered "verbal obstruction" and the runner would properly be awarded 3B.

Under OBR-based rule, there is no such notion and it's technically legal - the baserunner should be looking to the umpire or his base coach to see whether or not the ball was foul. Pretty bush, but legal.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote