Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
the way the play is described - since the ball was batted into the front court it is now in the front court and the dribbler is in contact with the backcourt when he picks up the ball - tough call to make but I think you have to.
|
Incorrect. Two key parts of the rule for there to be a violation: Team A must be the last team to touch the ball BEFORE it goes into the backcourt AND must also be the first team to touch the ball AFTER it goes into the backcourt.
Team B did the batting. The instant team A (while in the backcourt) touches the ball, the ball gains BC status. Nowever, who was the last to touch the ball before that point? Team B, not team A. No violation.