View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2008, 11:27am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
I'm thinking out loud here.
  • The ball does not have FC status as long as A1 is dribbling/straddling along the division line.
  • The dribble ends when B1 bats the ball. Therefore the FC/BC dribble restrictions above are now gone.
  • Ball is now in FC per the bat, A1 is still straddling division line, team control is still with team A, therefore A1 has BC status.
  • A1 touches, pickups, dribbles, doesn't matter...violation.
Did I get that???
No. No violation.

Lets break down the rule...
Rule 9-1...A player shall not be the first to thouch the ball
Check. They were first.
after it has been in team control in the frontcourt,
Check. Team A had team control and the ball gained FC status.
if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
Nope.

Who was the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt BEFORE it went to the backcourt? B1. Therefore, no violation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote