Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie
I just think that this is another rule justification where we need TEAM CONTROL FOR THROW IN'S, due to no team having control even though the ball is live for the throw in, I'm pretty sure this is why they are going back and going Alt. Poss.
|
Sorry, but you are incorrect with your reasoning. POI explicitly applies to throw ins. If you have an accidental whistle during a throw in, do you go to the AP because there is no team control? No.
4-36-2...Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods:
b. A free throw or throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such.
The error was discovered (this is the interruption) during a throw-in. Therefore, correct the error (cancel the score of the unmerited FT) and then go to the POI (B's throw-in).