View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2008, 08:42pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,217
2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented. Robert F. Kanaby, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2003

Printing Errors and Corrections:
Case Book: page 66-67, 9.7.2: Delete the last three words, “or interrupted dribble,” in the second to the last sentence of the ruling.
Officials Manual: Inside front cover No. 2 and page 69, 341i: Change “The new Trail Official…” to “The new tableside official (Trail or Center)…”

SITUATION 1: A5 is called for a fifth foul. Who informs the coach? RULING: It is recommended that the non-calling official in a crew of two or the new tableside official (trail or center) in a crew of three be responsible for notification. After informing the player, the official instructs the timer to begin the 30-second replacement period. (2-8-4; 4-14; 10-5-1d)

SITUATION 2: Team A started the game with seven team members in the scorebook. All team members foul out but one, A1. Team A is leading by eight points with 38 seconds left in the game with a chance to win. A1 fouls B2 with Team B in the bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, with no teammate to occupy the other required space. RULING: By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game. Accordingly, since Team A can only put one player in the required free-throw marked lane space, it cannot be penalized. Further, Team B may not occupy the first marked lane space left vacant by Team A. (3-1-1 Note, 8-1-3)

SITUATION 3: A5 is called for a fifth foul. The proper official notifies the head coach and instructs the timer to begin timing the replacement interval. After the 20-second warning horn and before the required substitute for A5 approaches the scorer’s table, (a) B6 and B7 report to the official scorer; (b) A6, who is replacing A1 reports to the official scorer; or (c) A3 requests a time-out. RULING: In (a) and (b), the properly reported substitutes shall be permitted to enter the game. In (c), a time-out shall not be granted while a replacement for A5 is pending. (3-3-1d; 5-8-3b)

SITUATION 4: During a substitution opportunity, three substitutes for Team A report to the official scorer and legally enter the contest. The Team B captain asks the nearest official for an opportunity to match-up defensively. RULING: The official shall permit players an appropriate amount of time to determine their defensive player responsibilities. As a courtesy, the official should ask the captain of the team making the initial request if he/she is ready to play. (3-3-1e)

SITUATION 5: At the top of the key, A1 beats B1 off the dribble, reaches the free-throw line, and pulls up for a jump shot. At the apex of the jump and before the ball is released, B2 comes from the side and swats the ball out of A1’s hands. The ball goes behind A1, deflects off A2 and into the backcourt, where A3 is the first to touch it. RULING: A backcourt violation shall be called. Team control had continued for Team A because the try ended before the ball was in flight. (4-12-3a; 4-40-3,4; 9-9-1)

SITUATION 6: A1 jumps from the floor and secures a defensive re-bound. A1 then pivots toward the sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass. Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing. A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling. RULING: Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass); the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4)

SITUATION 7: B1 obtains a legal guarding position on A1, who is dribbling the ball near the sideline. There is no contact by A1 while B1 has both feet on the playing court. B1 stays in the path of A1 but in doing so has (a) one foot touching the out-of-bounds boundary line, or (b) one foot in the air over the out-of-bounds boundary line when A1 contacts B1 in the torso. RULING: In (a), a blocking foul shall be called on B1. B1 may not be touching out of bounds. In (b), a player-control foul shall be called on A1; B1 had established and maintained a legal guarding position. (4-23-2,3; 4-35-1)

SITUATION 8: At the completion of the first half, the head coaches of the competing teams request that the officials allow a continuous clock starting with the second half alternating-possession throw-in. RULING: This is not legal. The officials should deny the request. By rule, only the state association can establish a running clock. (5-5 Note)

SITUATION 9: A Team A player requests a time-out: (a) while airborne A1 is in possession of the ball; (b) while A1’s pass toward A2 is in flight; (c) during A1’s interrupted dribble; (d) when the ball is on the floor at A1’s disposal for a throw-in; or (e) just after the ball travels through the basket on a successful try by Team B. RULING: The request is granted in (a) because A1 is in player control; (d) because the ball is at A1’s disposal; and in (e) because the ball is dead. The request is denied in (b) and (c), as there is no player control while the ball is being passed between teammates or during an interrupted dribble. (5-8-3; 4-15-6c)

SITUATION 10: To avoid the noisy spectators behind the team bench, the Team B coach directs his/her players to take their chairs and gather in the key area directly in front of the team bench during a 60-second time-out. RULING: The coach shall be informed immediately that the team gathering must take place within the confines of the team bench area – an imaginary rectangle formed by the boundaries of the sideline (including the bench), end line, and an imaginary line extended from the free-throw lane line nearest the bench area meeting an imaginary line extended from the coaching-box line. (5-12-5; 1-13-3)

SITUATION 11: Team A (free-throw shooting team) has two players in the second marked lane spaces and Team B (non-shooting team) has four players in the first and third marked lane spaces. After the first free-throw attempt and prior to the official placing the ball at the disposal of A1 for the succeeding attempt, A2, in one of the second marked lane spaces, vacates the space, moves beyond the three-point arc and above the free-throw line extended. In (a), B3, in the third marked lane space, moves down and occupies the vacated space. In (b), B5, not in a marked lane space, steps in to occupy the vacant space. RULING: Legal in (a). In (b), B5 should not be permitted to occupy the vacated space; it would give Team B (the defensive team) five players in marked lane spaces. If the officials allow B5 to occupy the space, and only realize the error once the ball is at the disposal of the free-throw shooter, a delayed violation shall be called. (8-1-3; 9-1)

SITUATION 12: Team A (free-throw shooting team) has no players in marked lane spaces. Team B (non-shooting team) has (a) four players in the first and second marked lane spaces or (b) two players in the first marked lane spaces only. RULING: Legal in both (a) and (b). The shooting team is not required to have any players in marked lane spaces and the defensive team must only have the first marked lane spaces occupied. If a team does not occupy a marked lane space to which it is entitled, the opponent may occupy the space (within the number limitations). (8-1-3)

SITUATION 13: Technical foul shooter A1 attempts the first free throw and substitute A6 attempts the second. RULING: Legal. Technical foul free throws may be attempted by any player or eligible substitute. Therefore, two different players may attempt the throws. (8-3)

SITUATION 14: A1 is shooting the first of a bonus free-throw situation. A4 is positioned in one of the fourth spaces (near the shooter) and B5 is positioned in the other fourth space. The incorrect alignment is discovered by the officials (a) before the ball is at the disposal of A1; (b) after the ball is at A1’s disposal, but before the try is in flight; (c) when the try is in flight; (d) when the successful try goes through the cylinder; (e) when the unsuccessful try is rebounding off the basket ring; or (f) when the rebound of the unsuccessful try is securely in A4’s possession. RULING: In (a), the administering official shall “reset” the free throw and put the players in a legal location for the free-throw. In (b) and (c), an official shall sound his/her whistle immediately and call a simultaneous violation, utilizing the alternating-possession procedure to put the ball in play. In (d), (e) and (f), the free throw has ended and the improper alignment is ignored. (9-1-2 Pen 3; 4-20-3)

SITUATION 15: Defender B4 attempts to stop an apparent lob pass near the basket. While B4 is airborne, A3 moves beneath B4. To avoid injury, B4 grasps the basket ring. While B4 grasps the ring, A1 shoots from about 12 feet away. Just after A1 releases the shot, B4 lets go of the ring and lands safely. The ring is still moving when (a) the ball hits the moving ring and bounces in; or (b) the ball enters and passes completely through the basket, without contacting the moving ring. RULING: Since B4 grasped the ring to prevent injury, no technical foul is called. In (a), when the ball contacts the moving ring, basket interference is called on B4; the ball is dead and the try cannot score, but A1 is awarded two points. In (b), since the ball entered and passed completely through the basket without touching the ring, basket interference has not occurred; play continues. (9-11-4; 4-6-4; 10-3-5 Exc)