View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2008, 07:06pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
You're correct. The clock should start on the touch, and immediately stop on the violation. Theoretically, no time should run off.

In practice, some time should run off.


NO! This was part of our discussion of the rule change last season. A player intentionally kicking the ball during a throw-in is NOT a legal touch, and the clock should not start.

If any time does come off the clock, this is a timing mistake and can be corrected by the referee.

Please note that along with the word "legally" being added to 4-42-5, it was also added to 5-9-4 for the 2007-08 season.
Reply With Quote