Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Illini_Ref  2nd and 10 from A's 40.  A1 runs the ball to B's 35 and fumble, which is recovered by B6..  During the play there was a facemask on B2.
 I say that the fumble caused the play to be a loose ball play and that includes the run preceeding the fumble.  That means we penalize from the previous spot and it is either 2nd and 5 from A's 45, or 1st and 10 from B's 45 depending on if the facemask is a 5 or 15 yarder.
 
 Correct?
 | 
	
 Rule 2-33-1c
A loose-ball play is action during a backward pass (including the snap), an illegal kick or fumble made by A from in or behind the neutral zone prior to a change of team possession.
Since the fumble in your play came beyond the neutral zone it is a running play and enforced as such.  Great question though!