View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2008, 03:25pm
insatty insatty is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 131
The Referee is right on top of this play. The ball is dead when the defender recovers the muffed snap. His toss over his head is a dead-ball delay-of-game foul. If one were to argue that the defender did not possess the ball at the time of the over-head toss, then you have an illegal-batting foul.

After the coach alerts the Referee, shouldn't the crew have gotten together and made the correct call? Bring back the ball to the recovery spot and put time on the clock, an untimed down for B on the a game-ending foul, or declare the game over. What a cluster@#&%!

I'm glad it didn't happen to me, but recall the football-official's adage: Learn from others' mistakes, because if you make them all yourself you won't be around too long.
Reply With Quote