Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
No, I don't think so.
The scenario is a fly ball that lands beyond a diagonal from 1B to 3B BUT in front of the baselines from 1B-2B-3B and subsequently rolls into foul territory not beyond 1B or 3B.
I'm saying that ASA says this is a foul ball and the interpretation I was given for NFHS is that it is a fair ball.
|
Sorry, I should have also quoted A...
Quote:
ASA-1-Fair Ball-A: Settles or is touched on or over fair territory between home and first base or between home and third base.
|
I think you need to read the wording a little closer. A, B and E deal with everything from home plate to the square formed by the baselines. F, G and H deal with everything beyond that.
I agree with you that both ASA and NFHS need something to handle this scenario, and I have no problem with your call. Just which rule you're invoking.
__________________
Dave
I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!
Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!
I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Last edited by NCASAUmp; Wed Oct 08, 2008 at 02:47pm.
|