Thread: Shifts
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2008, 09:14am
MNBlue MNBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by newref1 View Post
Thanks. That makes sense. Now all I have to is figure out why this is that important. I find it hard to believe that whether the back does or doesn't wait until the linemen are set before going in motion somehow affects the defense. Maybe it just looks confusing to them. But thanks.
It is important because the rules state that only on player may be in motion at the time of the snap. If more than one player is in motion prior to the snap, then ALL eleven must come to a set position for one second prior to the ball being snapped.

If the RB goes in motion before the linemen are set for one second, then we have more than one player in motion. So, to be legal, the RB and all of his team mates must come to a one second set position prior to the ball being snapped. Once they do this, any ONE player can then go in motion again, if he so desires.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote