View Single Post
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 04, 2008, 03:28pm
jmkupka jmkupka is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Just to continue an interesting thread... if you can suffer OBR for a moment.
TWICE in one week in September, Phillies vs Braves.
Both cases, 1 out, R1 on 1B.

Situation 1: Phils' F4 lets a high popup land in his wide-open glove (never squeezes it), then lets it fall to his feet. Picks it up to get an out at 2b, retiring the far-speedier runner instead of the BR.
BU kills the play, sending Chipper Jones back to 1B and calling the batter out.
Knowing smiles all around.

Situation 2:
High pop to F5, who settles under it then lets it drop untouched at his feet. Picks it up and retires R1 at 2B. Play stands.

Does this jive with ASA rules?
Reply With Quote