Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
In as much as ASA's rule leaves some room for interpretation, this one seems to leave a LOT of room. Does this mean that if F4 who sits back an waits to short hop a lazy line drive, it could be ruled an ID? What if the fielder allow the ball to fall to the ground and it skips away from him/her, is the ID call still valid?
Well, it's their game and they can do what they want, but I can just envision some of the arguments that could come along with this rule.
|
The only thing I do like about the ASA rule is that it leaves nothing up to interpretation. The ball must be caught, then voluntarily released to attempt to deceive a runner other than the BR into thinking they are forced to vacate their base. I don't think there's much interpretation left in this rule at all.
__________________
Dave
I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!
Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!
I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
|