View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 03, 2008, 07:23am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
A follow-up to the question about the NSA rule on "intentionally dropped" balls:

After an email exchange with the NSA National Director of Umpires, he has confirmed that under their rules a ball that is allowed to drop untouched by a fielder can be ruled as an "intentionally dropped" ball.
In as much as ASA's rule leaves some room for interpretation, this one seems to leave a LOT of room. Does this mean that if F4 who sits back an waits to short hop a lazy line drive, it could be ruled an ID? What if the fielder allow the ball to fall to the ground and it skips away from him/her, is the ID call still valid?

Well, it's their game and they can do what they want, but I can just envision some of the arguments that could come along with this rule.
Reply With Quote