Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
BUT NCAA rules: There IS team control during a throw-in. The double foul is a Point-of-Interruption (POI) with the penalty being a throw-in by the team in control of the ball nearest the spot where the ball was at the time of the double foul.
|
Just a minor comment. The team control issue in NCAA rules isn't really relevant here. When a throw-in is involved, as it is here, then the POI is simply another throw-in for the team that is making the original throw-in or is entitled to the throw-in (for a previous foul or violation, for example). That's NCAA 4-53-2c. It's essentially the same as the NFHS rule for POI during a throw-in (except for the shot clock element).
So while there is indeed team control during a throw-in in NCAA rules, it doesn't really matter to the adjudication of this play.