Thread: Arrow oops!
View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 02, 2008, 03:10am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Snaqs:

You are just plain evil with a capital "E", .

Since the double foul was committed before the throw-in ended the AP Arrow will not be reversed; that is the easy part.

NFHS rules: There IS NO team control during a throw-in; therefore, Team A will receive the ball for an AP Throw-in per NFHS R6-S4-A3g.

BUT NCAA rules: There IS team control during a throw-in. The double foul is a Point-of-Interruption (POI) with the penalty being a throw-in by the team in control of the ball nearest the spot where the ball was at the time of the double foul. Even though Team B had team control of the ball during the throw-in, the officials' mistake of giving the ball to Team B for the AP Throw-in is correctable (by rule) and therefore, the POI is the AP Throw-in by Team A. Team A would receive the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot of the ball at the time of the double foul and Team A would retain the AP Arrow for the next AP Throw-in.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. Snaqs rather than evil, your play is actually kinky, : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lj056ao6GE (about 15 seconds into the video).
You got the administration under NFHS rules correct, but for the WRONG reason. You forgot that step B in the POI process gives the ball to a team if the stoppage occurred during a throw-in or the team is entitled to a throw-in. So that's the POI, not the AP arrow. Following the double foul DURING the throw-in, Team A is still entitled to an AP throw-in from before and the official can still fix the mistake of awarding the ball to the wrong team. So give the ball to Team A for an AP throw-in under 4-36-2b and 7.5.2 Sit A.

Your ruling for NCAA is incorrect because Team A would not retain the arrow following the official fixing the previous mistake and giving them their entitled AP throw-in.
Reply With Quote