Thread: Arrow oops!
View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 07:26pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Here's a twist, let's have a double foul during the throwin mistakenly given to team B.

Now what?

Snaqs:

You are just plain evil with a capital "E", .

Since the double foul was committed before the throw-in ended the AP Arrow will not be reversed; that is the easy part.

NFHS rules: There IS NO team control during a throw-in; therefore, Team A will receive the ball for an AP Throw-in per NFHS R6-S4-A3g.

BUT NCAA rules: There IS team control during a throw-in. The double foul is a Point-of-Interruption (POI) with the penalty being a throw-in by the team in control of the ball nearest the spot where the ball was at the time of the double foul. Even though Team B had team control of the ball during the throw-in, the officials' mistake of giving the ball to Team B for the AP Throw-in is correctable (by rule) and therefore, the POI is the AP Throw-in by Team A. Team A would receive the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot of the ball at the time of the double foul and Team A would retain the AP Arrow for the next AP Throw-in.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. Snaqs rather than evil, your play is actually kinky, : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lj056ao6GE (about 15 seconds into the video).
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote