Thread: Arrow oops!
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 12:41pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
A held ball is called and the AP arrow favors Team A. The officials mistakenly award the ball to Team B. B1 releases the throw-in pass and the ball is immediately kicked by A1. The table then informs the officials that Team A should have had the last throw-in. What happens next?

Scrapper1:

NFHS R4-S42-A5: "The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is legally touched by a player inbounds or out of bounds, except as in R7-S5-A7." See NCAA R4-S67-A4 for the comparable rule.

Your situation is not a Correctable Error (ER) and I know, but cannot find it in the rules book, that it if it is discovered before the AP Throw-in ends that the wrong team has been given the ball for the AP Throw-in has ended that the correct team can be given the ball for the AP Throw-in. Since, by definition the throw-in in your situation did not end because A1 did not legally touch the ball, Team A is awarded the ball for an AP Throw-in at this point in the game.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote