View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 22, 2008, 01:47pm
PeteBooth PeteBooth is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigredmachine View Post

I also told the coach that I could have called obstruction on the catcher because he was in the runners basepath without the ball.

What do you think?
WE either have OBS or we do not. you DO NOT tell a coach "I could have called OBS on F2" because the fact is you didn't so IMO that point is moot.

In a later response you said Babe Ruth Fall ball league. I believe Babe Ruth is OBR based. If that's the case it sounds as if F2 needed to be where he was in order to field the thrown ball. That is a different definition than some other rule codes which includes NCAA / FED.

The bottom line in this OP is that a base runner establishes his baseline when the defense applys a tag on him. The runner was already PAST F2 so that point is also moot.

Sounds as though both you and your partner need to attend a good umpire clinic.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote