View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2008, 11:09pm
DJ_NV DJ_NV is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 170
By rule you have OPI. NFHS 7-5-11c states that contact by B away from the direction of the pass is legal, but the same leeway does not apply to A by rule. Philosophically you might lay off this call but the blocking better really, really be away from the play and not very far downfield.

Long story short, the offense knows the play and should know the rule. Furthermore it is the responsibility of the offense to avoid the opponent. Think of it this way--assuming the defense knows the rule (I know, a stretch but still...) the if a receiver goes down and blocks the a defender can reasonably think and react to a run. There's the illegal advantage gained.

Personally I might miss this one the first time, but I guarantee I'd flag it if it happened again. The offense should be held to a higher "standard" because they know the play.
Reply With Quote