View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 11, 2008, 01:06pm
Back In The Saddle Back In The Saddle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie
Goaltending 4-34.3. When the entire ball is above the level of the ring during a field-goal try and contacts the backboard, it is considered to be on its downward flight. In such a case, it is goaltending when that ball is touched by a player.


So no matter if the ball hits towards the bottom of the backboard and is definitely still on its way up, if it's above the rim when it's touched it is now going to be called goaltending???? makes it a lot easier on us i guess!!
Hmmm, is this the exact rules quote? If so, does your assertion that if the "ball hits towards the bottom of the backboard" that meets the criteria work? Doesn't the rule specifically indicate that it only applies if the "entire ball is above the level of the ring" when it hits the backboard.

So if I read that right, a layup where the ball hits the backboard at least partially below the ring on its way up would not meet the criteria for this rule. In that case I'm guessing we're back to judging entirely based on the flight of the ball.

Am I missing something?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote