View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 10, 2008, 09:26am
cdoug cdoug is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW OH
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Just trying to understand... the rule says to start on the snap, but you do what you want, and start on the ready if you feel that a team conserved time illegally?
Yes, since the QB is in shotgun formation he cannot legally ground the ball to conserve time (7.5.2 Exception: It is legal to conserve time by intentionally throwing the ball forward to the ground immediately after receiving a direct hand-to-hand snap). As noted being able to start the clock on the ready is allowed per 3.4.6
Reply With Quote