View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 10, 2008, 07:11am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by verticalStripes
2nd (OP=3rd) and 5 on B's 10 yard line. The score is A=6, B=7 in the 4th quarter. The game clock is running with four seconds remaining at the snap. QB A11 receives the snap in shotgun formation. A11 spikes the ball forward into the ground to save time. There are 2 seconds remaining when the ball hits the ground. After enforcing the intentional grounding penalty at B's 15 yardline, when does the clock start?
The OP calls for it to be the next-to-last down, which in Canadian ball, is second down. I will adjust the situation in that regard.

CANADIAN RULING:

The passer spiking the ball doesn't meet either of the deliberate grounding criterion, so the play results in an incomplete pass. Result: 3D/5 @ B-10. Since we're inside the 3-minute warning, clock on the snap.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote