Quote:
Originally Posted by snorman75
It needs to be direct to mitt or hand. It needs to be caught "clean". Anything else is a foul ball.
This is a foul ball since the ball did not go directly to either the mitt or hand.
|
It didn't?
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck
...the batter hits ball directly and sharply back. Ball first contacts the catcher's mitt...
|
You have a significant misunderstanding of the foul tip rule. The batted ball DOES need to go directly back and first contact the catcher's hand or glove, but after it does that, the ball does NOT need to be caught "clean" - it merely needs to be legally caught by the catcher.