Welcome to the forum, michael!
 
 
	Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by michaelround
					
				 What happens when a field goal is blocked beyond the line of scrimmage? It's my understanding this is a free ball. If the kicking team recovers and the yardage advanced is sufficient for a first down, it's first down. 
 Is this right?
 
 If so, is there a signal given by the referees alerting the players whether the ball "is free" or not?
 | 
	
 CANADIAN RULING:
 
FGA blocked beyond the LS is a live ball.  Team A can still throw a forward pass.  If A recovers, they do still need to gain yards for a 1D.
 
CANADIAN MECHANIC:
 
No.