View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 30, 2008, 04:51pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref
That was my take on it also. This play was explained to me this morning, I didn't actually see it. The play was called OPI which is wrong if the pass hadn't been thrown. I probably go with holding on A1 if he had plenty of room to avoid the defender.

I don't think many people know that the defender is an eligible receiver also!
Why is there no such animal as illegal contact by the offense?

If defenders are eligible, as you remind us, then doesn't IC seem like the logical foul? A1 didn't hold B1 at all - he knocked him down! On the LS, that isn't a hold. On a COP, it isn't a hold. Behind the LS, it isn't a hold. So why is it a hold here?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote