Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
I would handle it the way you proposed, but there are those that argue you can't touch the clock in any way if you have any gaps in your counts and would continue with 11 seconds on the clock after counting the basket and giving B the ball for a throwin as after any goal.
|
I can see the rationale for that side, but it just doesn't make any sense to me to not take off any time at all. Besides, 5-10-2 says, "If the referee determines that the clock was not started or stopped properly, or if the clock did not run, an official's count or other official information can be used to make a correction." That's exactly what I did - I made a correction based on the count(s). I can't make a correction on the rest of the time because I don't have any count or official information. That rule doesn't say, "...relative to all of the time in question..." or something similar.