View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 20, 2008, 11:31am
SanDiegoSteve SanDiegoSteve is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724

As per MLB Rule 7.08(c), a batter-runner is only protected from being tagged out when returning to first base after an overrun if he does so immediately; because Upton just stood down the line from first for a few seconds before returning, the call was correct.

As for West, he really doesn't miss very many calls. He was right on this one, and where do you get off judging anybody by their weight? Weight is a personal matter, and should be left that way. As long as West can get to his calls, which he does quite well, thank you, then his weight should be off-limits to discussion. I've seen quite a few umpires that could stand to gain a few pounds, but I don't comment about how anorexic they look.
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25