View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 20, 2008, 11:28am
Rich's Avatar
Rich Rich is offline
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,783
[QUOTE=PeteBooth]
Quote:

Rich now you are kidding right. Upton can over-run first base. If he didn't touch the base originally then I can perfectly understand the call. I guess we have a difference of opinion on this one. I have NEVER seen this call in all my years of watching baseball.
Ugh. I don't see a quote from Meals in the article. You're taking the word of a sportswriter? You should've heard the Phillies announcers speculating as to the UI call last night. At first they thought Victorino must've interfered with the throw to first. Ha. Ha.

The rule (7.08c) clearly says he must immediately return. He didn't. He hesitated while thinking about making an attempt to advance, stopping for a few seconds. That puts him in jeopardy.

Last edited by Rich; Wed Aug 20, 2008 at 11:30am.