Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref
Less than two outs, runners at second and third.
Batter interferes on a steal of home, runner beats the tag.
I know that the runner is out, and the ball is dead. My question is this.
If the runner from second advances to third does he stay at third? The rule (NF) states that runners return on interference by the batter and a play at a base other than home. By rule then, the runner stays unless I deem a DP could have been made. Correct???
|
Good question. I think under FED rules that runners always return to TOI (except on a FPSR violation). So, if you judged R2 to reach third before the interference, he keeps third. MOst of the time that won't happen, and any benefit of the doubt goes to the defense.