Opposite situation
I saw the following play (I was NOT umpiring this one!):
Infield fly situation. B3 hits towering popup slightly behind home plate into the face of a strong wind blowing straight out toward center. C overruns the attempt to catch the foul ball and it starts back toward the pitcher. C falls flat of his back without touching the ball and the ball hits in foul ground and rolls fair. PU calls nothing!!! Not "Infield fly, if fair", not "Foul ball", no fair ball signal, ... Nothing!!! P picks up the ball and goes back to the mound for the next pitch, with a strike on the batter.
This is an infield fly, and the batter should have been called out. The ball rolled into fair territory and was touched by a player - teh pitcher - in fair territory. No one questioned the (no) call, and the game progressed normally. I must have been the only one there who recognized that the umpire had blown the call and lost the opportunity to get an easy OUT call.
__________________
Herb McCown
|