Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Thoughts on this one? Any difference in NFHS? I'll post the NCAAW answer in a few hours.
================================
It is a traveling violation when:
a. A1 ends her dribble and jumps to shoot. While in the air, she realizes that her shot will get blocked so she voluntarily throws the ball to the playing court and is the first to touch it.
b. A1 attempts to catch the ball while running. A1 does not control the ball but tips it in the air while taking 3 steps; she then secures the ball and begins a dribble.
c. A1 attempts a try at Team A’s basket after her dribble has ended. The try does not touch the backboard, the ring or flange or any other player. A1 runs and catches the ball before it strikes the playing court.
d. A1, while airborne, catches the ball to prevent it from going out of bounds. She throws the ball onto the court as her momentum takes her out of bounds. She then returns inbounds and is the first to touch the ball.
e. A1 rebounds the ball and falls to the floor without ever establishing a pivot foot.
|
You mentioned differences in NFHS...let's see how well I know (or just THINK I know) the rules in NFHS.....
"A"...I agree, and believe it would be a "double dribble"
"B"...You've got nothing, b/c the player does not have control during the tip
and 3 steps before securing the ball.
"C"...I believe here its nothing too, b/c team control was lost during the
"try attempt"....
"D"...I believe she's ok as long as she establishes herself inbounds before
touching the ball (touching a foot in bounds). Otherwise, if she last
touched her feet "out of bounds", she would still be considered "out of
bounds" (think 3 point shot rules....leave floor behind 3pt line, its a 3pt
attempt...leave floor in front of line, its a 2pt shot).
"E"....That is a travel regardless of whether or not a pivot was established,
b/c she went to the floor after gaining posession of the ball.
Again, these are just NFHS. Are these correct? Any help would be great!