Despite the rule book defining the runner's baseline as a direct path between the bases (one of several admitted errors in the book) you've got the essence of the rule.
And, you've answered your own question, more or less.
Did the runner leave the baseline by more than 3' to avoid a tag?
Yes? He's out.
No? He's not out.
On what do we base this decision? Your judgement.
From your description it sounds to me like the runner left the baseline to avoid colliding with the catcher who had not yet received the ball, thus could not be attempting a tag. Smart move. Good call.
Now then, if the catcher received the ball and attempted a swipe tag as the runner ran out of the baseline (despite your resistance, two seemingly simultaneous events) what would you have?
GB
|