View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 03, 2002, 01:14am
Gold_Spark Gold_Spark is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to Gold_Spark Send a message via Yahoo to Gold_Spark
Actually . . . just a confirmation from you guys.

This ruling concerns a runner running 3 feet off the baseline to avoid the tag.

The situation is so. The catcher is RECEIVING (ball is in flight) the ball several feet up the third base line and the runner moves more then 3 foot in distance off the baseline.

From there, the runner continues directly to home where the catcher is unable to make the tag.

My understanding is as follows. The baserunner may not run 3 foot away from a direct line between himself and the base he is proceeding to in order to avoid a tag. However, considering the catcher did NOT have the ball at the time the runner moved out . . . the runner merely re-established his baseline.

Could I get some response to this?
Reply With Quote