Don't have my book with me, but I'll give it a try from memory
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
An extremely interesting lineup management scenario happened to me Saturday at the ASA 18-Gold Western Territorial Qualifier. I was U1.
1 out. B2 (#22) bats and gets a single. B3 (#24) is up to bat next. Coach tells the PU "#6 for #24". PU nods, says "#6 for #24, ok coach" and writes the change, then anounces it to the other team's book.
S1 (#6) then goes and replaces B2 (#22) on 1B. B3 (#24) comes to bat, and the PU doesn't notice. F1 throws a strike to B3.
F2 turns to the PU and says, "Blue, didn't #6 come in for #24?" "Yes." "Then why is #24 at bat?"
Whatcha do now, blue?
(sidenote - we booted it by book, but both teams were ok with what we did...I'll tell you what we did later.)
|
What you have is an unreported substitute (pitch-runner). I know they announced the substitute, but it was for the batter and not the runner, so I'd consider it unreported by rule. A pitch was made. So I believe we disqualify the unreported substitute (#6) and bring in another sub or #22 comes back into run. All other action as the result of the pitch stands.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
|