View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 25, 2008, 12:41pm
Cajun Reff Cajun Reff is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99
Why did R1 have the ball? Coming out of a time out?
R1 was properly positioned?
And R1 was OOB?

Please clarify, because I'm having a hard time figuring out the logistics.
yes, Team A had called timeout after the made basket to set up the double pass play

R1 bounced A1 the ball, A1 ran a few steps to his right, R1 had backed away from A1 for his count. A2 ran OOB behind R1, A1 turned and fired the ball back to the middle of the court OOB to A2 but R1 was standing right in the line of fire and got hit

For their 2 man mechanics R1 was in the proper place, albeit it at the wrong time. In a larger gym he would have had more room to back away from the end line but the wall was right there.
__________________
"Earl Strom is a throwback, a reminder of the days when the refs had colorful personalities, the days when war-horses like Mendy Rudolph, Norm Drucker, and a younger Earl Strom were called the father, the son, and the holy ghost.—Roy Firestone, sports commentator
Reply With Quote