Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Play: FED rules. A scores a basket with 4.8 seconds remaining. The score is now B:46, A:44. Team A is out of time-outs. Player B1 (stupidly) grabs the ball as it falls through the basket and throws the ball: (a) high in the air, (b) to the other end of the court, (c) out of bounds under A's basket and away from the court.
Ruling:??
(Is there any penalty / delay warning to B? When (if ever) does the ball become live (what if A "fouls" during this sequence)?)
|
The penalty to B is an immediate throw-in violation if B never stepped out of bounds.
Did you mean to say that
A1 grabs the ball and throws it? In that case, it's strictly the official's judgment. If it was intentional, you charge A1 with a technical and put the consumed time back on the clock. If it was simple confusion, you put the time back on the clock and let B run the endline for their normal throw-in.