I don't know . . .
It is a huge pet peve of mine for umpires to call "FOUL" before the ball is actually considered foul.
The fact of the matter is . . . I think they should have considered the ball foul at that point whether it was the right call or not. Once the umpire calls a ball foul, the play is dead.
On further note . . . you're right. An umpire can never overturn another umpire's decision. NEVER! One umpire can ask the others for help . . . but if he makes the call. The call stands. (At least it should by mechanics unless there is a ruling at hand).
Seems to me that both of these fellas didn't have their best game on this day. I'm interested in seeing what our experienced members have to say about this situation.
Hopefully, they agree with me.
|