Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by mattmets
					
				 I balk F1 for throwing to an unoccupied base.  Apparently this has been an issue before, because defensive head coach comes out with rule in hand, where there is a rule comment that a pitcher may throw to an unoccupied base with R1 and R3, regardless of whether the runners are in motion. | 
	
 I can't say I've EVER heard that not being a balk 

 I guess I've been wrong for years.  Unless he is trying to drive back a runner, I was under the belief it is a balk
 
  
 
Tim-
That is a two base award from the TOP.  Unfortunately, I don't have my rule books with me for documentation but in the NFHS it's in the handy baserunning awards chart. (I will make the assumption it's the same for OBR)
Matt-
You should never get surprised at what rules a coach doesn't know, I agree with ACE.  I had a coach this year that didn't know you could tag up on a caught FOUL fly ball.  I rolled my eyes at the thought 
 
 
-Josh