View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 18, 2002, 10:40am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by PAULK1
as soon as the ball strikes the opponents backboard a dribble has started I don't have my case book with me but
this case is covered....
4.15.4C "Throwing the ball against the opponent's backboard or an official constitues another dribble, provided A1 is the first to touch the ball ..."

The rule makes it clear that the ball touching the backboard is the same as the ball touching the floor -- until someone touches it, we don't know if it's a pass (someone else touches it) or a dribble (A1 touches it).
Reply With Quote