Thread: Lodged ball.
View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 17, 2002, 11:33pm
Mark Dexter Mark Dexter is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
The hanging backboard not OOB - I don't agree with it, but there could be an arguement for that case.

But to call an AP situation for the ball trapped between the backboard and rim?? Let's look at a few rules which dispute this.

First, 6-3-3d - you go to AP when "A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free-throw or throw-in follows."

Let us, then, examine 1-8, backboard position. It states, in part that the backboards must be "midway between the sidelines," have the "plane of the front face perpendicular to the floor," and goes on to specify measurements to pinpoint the location. If we want to be hyper-technical, then a backboard suspended in the "up" position is not really a backboard, per the rules, and therefore would not apply to the qualification of 6-3-3d, thus rendering your point moot.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote