Thread: Through or by
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 15, 2008, 01:01pm
jdmara jdmara is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by papablue
This should look familiar, da...

On this type interference, runner would be out UNLESS:
1) the defender touched the ball before it contacted the runner, or
2) the ball went "through" or "by" (i.e., within reach) of the defender, and no other defender is judged to have a play on the ball.

(Notice how "runner intent" does not factor into either of these exceptions.)

In this play, if the ball is judged to have gone "by" the fielder, and that no other fielder could have made a play, then no INT should be called. Otherwise, he's out

John
CA-D62
Whenever a runner intentionally contacts a ball (whether it be a hit or throw ball) the runner is out. Without the rules book in front of me, I didn't know that wasn't included in that section but I believe it applies to this situation as well.

-Josh
Reply With Quote