View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 03:32pm
socalumps socalumps is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi
Actually, you cannot overturn any other umpire's call. If he asks, you can provide information that he may have missed, but it is still his decision to accept that information and change his call.

It would seem that U1 had plenty of time to be at home and to manuever to get the necessary angles to make this call. No reason, from your post, that I can see where he shouldn't have been there to make the call, and, if as you say, he was "straightlined and can't see the missed tag," that would also mean that he couldn't see the tag either, in which case his proper call would have been to make a safe call. In which case, there would have been nothing to overturn.

Now to the last part of your post, please tell me that the coach was not there to make that demand a third time!

What if plate umpire felt he/she did not get a good look with the developing play and asked U3 "did you see a tag?" What if U3 did in fact see a tag? Wouldn't that be something to overturn?
Reply With Quote