Quote:
Originally Posted by crewumpires
question, in that same senario with him swinging the bat, and the ball is hit back to the pitcher who fields it and throws to first for an apparent out. What would your call be? "can a batter put ball in play with his hands?"
(I called a strike and returned B1 to Batters box for another try. Coach was not happy and I wondered if I blew the call) 
|
Any time a pitch hits a batter, the ball is dead. Whatever else you're going to call (foul, strike, HBP, etc.) the ball is dead. No play can be made.