Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
OBR does not cover the point at all, so I don't see where it is written in the "Rule Book" that it's illegal for the pitcher, or any other player, to wear a batting glove under the fielding glove. The PBUC interp allows any defensive player to wear a glove, provided they do not rub the baseball on it [1.22]. So, technically speaking, the pitcher would have to take the glove off every time he wanted to rub up the baseball.
|
Discussed this last night with a more senior official during games I had with him last night, and he came up with the same response SD - can't rub the baseball down if he has a batting glove on, but other than that, he uses judgement on the distraction issue.
Thanks for the responses!